MSU College of Music Honors Concert Displays Top Talent

Top students from the Michigan State University College of Music will take the stage for the college’s annual Honors Concert — on Friday, March 14, 8 p.m., at Cobb Great Hall, Wharton Center.

The concert will feature winners of the college's Honors Competition, which was held in January. The nine winners will perform with the MSU Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of Kevin Noe and guest conductors Matt Forte, Gretchen Renshaw, and Mark Dupere.

This year’s winners are Hyekyung Lee, piano; Jin-Hyun Kim, cello; Michael Robinson, trombone; J.W. Kriewall, bassoon; Schyler Sheltrown, soprano; Heather Benson, mezzo soprano; Johnathan Riesen, tenor; and Dan Ewart, baritone.

“The competition is important because it is a great way to showcase the best musicians that Michigan State has to offer,” says J.W. Kriewall, a 2014 competition winner. “It also gives College of Music students a performance goal to work toward. Last year, I played in the orchestra that accompanied the soloists and thought, I could do that. I admired the solo players and strove to play well enough to become one.”

The Honors Concert repertoire will include:

• Saint-Saëns - Piano Concerto in G minor
• Dvorak - Cello Concerto
• Bourgeois - Trombone Concerto
• Hummel - Bassoon Concerto
• Verdi - Quartet from Rigoletto

Admission is free for students with ID and anyone under age 18. Tickets are $10 for adults, $8 for seniors (age 60 and older), and can be purchased online at the College of Music box office by calling (517) 353-5340, or in person (333 W. Circle Drive, East Lansing), or at the Wharton Center box office by calling (800) WHARTON or (517) 432-2000. There will be a $3 restoration fee for tickets purchased at Wharton Center, via phone, box office or the website. This is not a College of Music fee.

Share this: