Giving as a Team

College of Music volunteer leadership group funds endowed scholarship.

The 16-member College of Music National Leadership Council has established the first collectively funded endowed scholarship through the university’s Empower Extraordinary campaign. The collective pledge of more than $150,000, members say, demonstrates a united commitment, strengthens the impact of individual gifts, and serves as a model for other volunteer committees.

“Our hope is that every volunteer group is as personally committed and involved with their MSU support,” says April Clobes, president and CEO of the MSU Federal Credit Union, member of the NLC, and alumna (’94 BA Marketing, '00 MA Advertising). “That is what truly makes the difference in empowering Spartans Will.”

Council member and alumnus Craig Murray ('76 BA Advertising) also commented on group gifts as a way to advance the mission of MSU.

“Giving as a team is uniquely Michigan State,” says Murray. “Spartans give because it’s the right thing to do.”

Alkeem Davidson from Lancaster, Pa., will be the first recipient of the NLC Endowed Scholarship. He plans to begin his master's studies this fall with University Distinguished Professor of Clarinet Elsa Verdehr. 

“The NLC are people of action who have positively impacted MSU and the College of Music through their guidance, advocacy, and generosity,” says James Forger, dean of the College of Music. 

The National Leadership Council consists of MSU alumni and supporters who share a passion for music and the university. The council was formed in 2006 to provide guidance to the then School of Music as it transitioned to College status, and continues to advocate for programming, fundraising and scholarships that contribute to the recruitment and retention of highly talented students.

Top Photo: Several members of the College of Music National Leadership Council are pictured here with Rebecca Surian and James Forger during a recent meeting. Left to right: Byron J. Cook, Greenville, Mich.; Kenneth Beall, East Lansing, Mich.; Dolores M. Cook, Greenville, Mich.; Douglas F. Jewell, Tucson, Ariz.; April M. Clobes, East Lansing, Mich.; Surian; Joanne S. Church, Castleton, Vt.; Merritt M. Lutz, New York, N.Y.; Steven H. Noll, Chicago, Ill.; Howard J. Gourwitz, Bloomfield Hills, Mich.; Forger; and Craig R. Murray, Burbank, Calif. NLC members not pictured here: William David Brohn, Clinton, Conn.; Kurt A. Burmeister, Rochester Hills, Mich.; Cecil and Clare S. Mackey, East Lansing, Mich.; Roy J. Simon, East Lansing, Mich.; John D. and Dortha J. Withrow, Naples, Fla.

See Campaign in Action

Topics filed under:

Share this: