Faculty Governance

Standing Committee membership as shown below takes effect in Fall 2019 following the MSU College of Music election.


Area Chairs

Brass  Philip Sinder Expires Spring 2020
Composition Ricardo Lorenz Expires Spring 2022
Conducting Kevin Sedatole Expires Spring 2020
Musicology/Ethnomusicology Kevin Bartig Expires Spring 2022
Jazz Studies Rodney Whitaker  
Music Education Sandra Snow Expires Spring 2021
Music Theory Michael Callahan Expires Spring 2021
Percussion Gwen Dease Expires Spring 2020
Piano Deborah Moriarty Expires Spring 2020
Strings Suren Bagratuni Expires Spring 2020
Vocal Arts Richard Fracker Expires Spring 2021
Woodwinds Jan Eberle Expires Spring 2022

College Committees

Advisory Committee

Gwen Dease Performance Expires Spring 2021
Jane Bunnell Performance Expires Spring 2020
Michael Largey Academic Expires Spring 2021
Juliet Hess Academic Expires Spring 2020
Richard Fracker At-Large: no area rotation Expires Spring 2020

Ad hoc Committee on Diversity and Inclusion

Gwendolyn Dease
Richard Fracker
Arris Golden
Juliet Hess
Chen-Yu Huang
Ava Ordman
Derek Polischuk
Marcie Ray
Diego Rivera
Cara Stroud
Mark Sullivan
Talitha Wimberly
Mingzhe Wang
Rodney Whitaker, director

Undergraduate Committee

Melanie Helton Performance Expires Spring 2021
Justin Emerich Performance Expires Spring 2022
Alexis Bacon Acad: Theory/Composition Expires Spring 2021
Ryan Shaw Acad: Ed/Musicology Expires Spring 2022
Ken Prouty At-Large: Ed/Musicology Expires Spring 2020

Faculty Travel Committee

Mingzhe Wang, chair 2017-2020
Lyn Goeringer 2018-2021
Justin Emerich 2019-2022

Graduate Committee

Marc Embree Performance Expires Spring 2021
Mingzhe Wang Performance Expires Spring 2022
Sarah Long Acad: Ed/Musicology Expires Spring 2021
Cara Stroud
David Biedenbender
Acad: Theory/Comp Expires Spring 2022
Stand-in Spring 2020
Jon Weber At-Large: Performance Expires Spring 2020

Technology Committee

Michael Kroth
Mark Sullivan
Bruce Taggart

Visiting Artist/Lecturer Committee

Zhou Tian, chair 2017-2020
Margarita Shevchenko 2018-2021
Ava Ordman 2019-2022

University Committees

Steering Committee Deborah Moriarty, Vice Chair (2016-2020)
University Council/Faculty Senate

Derek Polischuk (2018-2020)
Jane Bunnell (2019-2021)

Standing Committees    

University Committee on Academic Governance Etienne Charles (2018-2020)
University Committee on Undergraduate Education Jan Eberle (2019-2021)
University Committee on Curriculum David Biedenbender (2019-2021)

University Committee on Faculty Affairs

Randy Napoleon (2018-2020)

University Committee on Faculty Tenure
Gordon Sly (2019-2021)
University Committee on Graduate Studies

Zhou Tian (2019-2021)

University Student-Faculty Judiciaries

Xavier Davis (2018-2020)
Guy Yehuda (2018-2020)
Corbin Wagner (2018-2020)

Advisory Committees

University Committee on International Studies and Programs Guy Yehuda (2019-2021)
University Committee for the Library James Sullivan (Stand-in Spring 2020)
Cara Stroud (2019-2021)
University Committee on Honors Programs Guy Yehuda (2019-2021)