Wind Symphony

Venue: Cobb Great Hall, Wharton Center 

Kevin Sedatole conducts the MSU Wind Symphony. Photo courtesy MSU

$10 for adults, $8 for seniors, free for students.

Kevin L. Sedatole, conductor, Michael Sachs, trumpet, guest soloist

Stuckey . . . . . Funeral Music for Queen Mary
Kernis . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Concerto for Trumpet
Rodrigo . . . . . . . . .Adagio for Wind Orchestra
Grantham . . . . . . .. . . . . . . Southern Harmony

Concert Details

MSU’s Wind Symphony will perform Aaron Jay Kernis’s “a Voice, a Messenger” with guest soloist Michael Sachs, principal trumpet of the Cleveland Orchestra. In addition to the concerto, three other pieces will be performed. 

Kernis, a Pulitzer-Prize winning composer, is also the winner of the 2002 Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition along with various other awards and honors. He is one of today’s most frequently performed composers with works premiered by the New York Philharmonic, Baltimore Symphony, and San Francisco Symphony. “A Voice, a Messenger,” co-commissioned by the New York Philharmonic and Big Ten Band Directors Association, was inspired by a Jewish holiday service and was premiered in 2010.
Sachs, who has been with the Cleveland Orchestra since 1988, is recognized as a leading soloist, recitalist, chamber musician, and has also performed as a guest soloist with many other renowned orchestras and chamber groups.
In addition to the trumpet concerto, the repertoire includes Funeral Music for Queen Mary by Steven Stucky, Adagio for Wind Orchestra by Joaquín Rodrigo, and Southern Harmony by Donald Grantham. 

Filed under: